Governing Board

Who makes the decisions on how United Way of Kern County operates? You might be surprised to learn although the United Way name is recognized globally, each United Way is independent and locally governed. That is important because it means your United Way is governed by your fellow Kern County residents. United Way’s Governing Board is comprised of our community’s hardest working people, who give of their time, talent and treasure to advance the common good of our community. They have the important task of overseeing United Way of Kern County to ensure that it operates in a manner that meets the expectations of our donors. This means determining strategic direction, reviewing financial data on a regular basis, approving our operating budget and determining how to improve the education, income and health of our community.


Nicolette Cross, Chair
CPA/Owner, O’Dell Cross P.C.

Bob Meadows, Vice-Chair
Vice President, Mission Bank

Danielle Davis, APR, Secretary
Area Director of Account Management, Kaiser Permanente Kern County

Dr. Nora Dominguez
Regional Campus Director, University of LaVerne

Del Garcia, Treasurer
Vice President, Business Banking Manager, Wells Fargo

Shirley Gordon, Out-going Chair
Vice President of Operations, State Farm Insurance

Jordan Kaufman
Treasurer/Tax Collector, County of Kern

Javier Lozano
Human Resources Director, Aera Energy LLC

Nick Ortiz
President/CEO, Greater Bakersfield Chamber of Commerce

Sandra Serrano
Chancellor, Kern Community College District

Debra Watkins
President, Alert Disaster Restoration

Dr. Jenny Zorn
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, California State University Bakersfield

Ex-Officio Members:

Magda Menendez, Partner Agency Representative
Administrator, Mexican American Opportunity Foundation

Della Hodson,
President & Chief Executive Officer, United Way of Kern County

Our Focus
Vita Income


Creating pathways to financial stability by providing free tax services and providing financial literacy courses.

Born Learning & Raising a Reader

Born Learning & Raising a Reader

Preparing children for success in school and in life by empowering parents to be their first teachers.

Kern County Homeless Collaborative

Kern County Homeless Collaborative

Working to end homelessness with 25 partner member organizations.

Kern Food Policy Council

Kern Food Policy Council

Collaborating to end hunger by working to find innovative, systems-level solutions.

You're part of this community. we know you want to see it succeed. So do we. At United Way, we believe we can do more together as a team. Join us.
Sign up for our newsletter